Report Builder

City of Cincinnati Department of Community Development named Community Development Department of the Year

Press Release

Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Contact: Patricia Richards, Ohio Conference of Community Development, Inc., 937-652-3523


Ohio Conference of Community Development (OCCD), a statewide association of community and economic development practitioners, has announced the winners of the inaugural OCCD Member Awards, the President’s Award for Innovative Practices, and this year’s Public Service Scholarship.

The five categories and corresponding 2013 honorees for the first annual OCCD Member Awards are as follows:

Legacy Award – In recognition of individuals who have advanced community development programs with particular ardor and creativity throughout their careers, and where long-term benefits are demonstrable and noteworthy.

  • 2013 Recipient: William Graves

Public Service Award – In recognition of individuals who have devoted much of their lives to the benefit of society through careers in community development in the public and/or private sectors.

  • 2013 Recipient: Gary Locke

Community Development Professional of the Year – In recognition of community development professionals whose work on a project/program had a major impact on their community.

  • 2013 Recipients: Michael Cervay and Mark Paxson

Community Development Department of the Year – In recognition of a department whose programs collectively or one program singly has made a significant impact in their community.

  • 2013 Recipient: City of Cincinnati

Community Development Partner of the Year – In recognition of a non-profit or faith-based organization, individual, business, financial institution, foundation, intermediary, government agency, or other entity that has provided exceptional support to the community development industry.

  • 2013 Recipient: CountyCorp

In addition to the new Member Awards, OCCD created the Public Service Scholarship Fund in 2012 to support students who are passionate about the field of community development. The scholarship fund was established in honor of William Graves and Gary Locke, who committed their careers to community development and public service in Ohio. Stuart Davidovich, a graduate student studying City and Regional Planning at The Ohio State University, was chosen as the first recipient of the $1000 scholarship.

The winner of the 2013 OCCD President’s Award for Innovative Practices was also announced this week. Dress for Success (Columbus), an organization that provides women in need with professional clothing, a support network, and career development resources so that they may gain economic stability and independence, is the recipient of this year’s President’s Award.

OCCD is an association of more than 160 community and economic development professionals representing cities, counties, villages, non-profit organizations and consulting firms across Ohio. Its members are dedicated to improving the livability of their communities through various initiatives and collaborations that aim to eliminate urban blight and encourage planning practices that enable a healthy, sustainable, and equitable way of life for all citizens. The OCCD Member Awards were created to formally recognize those community development professionals who have made the greatest difference in their communities and in Ohio.

The 2013 award and scholarship recipients will be honored at OCCD’s Annual Summer Banquet on July 24.




Data Center




I am